For I know I have the plans for you…

Jeremiah 29:11

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

Genesis 2:23-25

That is why a man leaves his father and mother and is united to his wife, and they become one flesh.

When I think about my marriage of 29 years and remember how we met and the dreams that we had back then, I know that all of it was because of God. You know when you have dreams / visions of something and when you meet that right person – it may not be falling in love on sight, but rather a knowing that comes deep from your core – the inside part of you that is God?

Well, that is how I felt then and now about my husband, Ron. I always had that vision of someone in my mind that looked exactly like Ron… not a clear photo quality picture. It was an unshakeable vision that he and I were meant to be together. God knew us before we were born, before we came into existence and knows our every thoughts and deeds long before we’ve ever done or said anything.

We met in college 1979. He was an engineering student in his last year and I was a music education major. We graduated a year apart and he moved away from our home town. We talked on the phone in the evenings and he was home most weekends. We even started attending church together. Ron was then and now is my best friend.

When I first met Ron, I couldn’t even see his face as it was wintertime and very very cold outside. A group was gathered at the dining hall waiting to go home for the day – all from our home town. They knew that I was looking for a car pool for the next fall and we were all introduced. I borrowed a ride from them that day with me in the back seat of Mike’s car and two guys on either side of me looking desperately out the window nary a glance much less word to me!

Our first date was a Pirates Game!!! My Dad often got tickets – box seats from his work and came up with 4 tickets knowing full well someone was interested in me and me in him. So he suggested asking someone to join him and Mum for an evening out. It was our first date after several months of traveling back and forth to college.

I was pretty naive back then and while they were both nice guys I found myself rather more attracted to the one sitting to my left! From the front seat of the car, Mike kept the conversation light and flowing and all the conversation was good… but never did the two in the back ever say one word to me much less look my direction! All I heard later on was that I had sparked some interest from someone in the car! (And, I didn’t know who!) I even had a couple of dates with the guy sitting to my right that summer and hadn’t still a clue to the name of the person sitting to my left.

To be continued…

About karenbobic

I am a sah-wahm of three sons. Trained as a musician/educator, I taught in the private sector for more than 20 years. I have a passion for helping others including animal rescue. I love to spend time with our family, friends and of course our english springer spaniels.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

