Listening with intent…

Hear with your heart and not with your head. Listen closely to all that’s said. Be alert and you will see that good communication creates a healthier relationship between you and me! ~ Lisa Kitter

I’ve come to the conclusion that all my best thoughts usually come to me when I never have pen/paper or computer nearby! Sound familiar? .. really am beginning to think that I need to start carrying around my voice recorder to talk out my thoughts so as to put them down when I’m able. Invariably during the course of the day or night thoughts will come into my head after conversations or emails received .. and I’m suddenly taken to a place where the words start flowing and I think .. “oh yes, I must remember and write that down” as if that profound thought can reach that person that brought those thoughts into my head after the fact!

I certainly hope that makes sense .. as it does to me! There is humor in much that we hear and feel and also in the spoken/written word .. if only to our own imagination! At any rate to get myself back on track here .. the quote that I started this journal “hear with your heart and not with your head….” by Lisa .. THANK you, Lisa .. came to me right after having a conversation with someone I care greatly about who is going through a really hard time.

It clicked! .. That little light bulb went off in my head and it was right there .. had I only had pen/paper to write with and not been distracted by the mundane chore that needed doing? .. I would have written the perfect sentiment that went along with that conversation had with my friend.

What the conversation really did? .. was make me feel things deep inside .. maybe call it ESP? .. or that inner voice .. intuition .. that keeps you connected to someone you care about? .. don’t know .. After the conversation ended, it kept in my mind and heart to a point that I could almost hear this person and feel this person thoughts and emotions. Strange isn’t it .. how one can feel so connected to someone. It makes me wonder if we can really control our thoughts so that someone else can feel our energy .. via airwaves .. kind of on the order of Reiki? .. the hands on kind of energy that heals…

In my listening with my heart and not my head .. it conjured up thoughts that I thought I’d long since let go. The connection I felt in deep ways and wanted to reach out and be heard the same way .. through the heart and not the head.

I wish I could fully explain the feelings that sometimes overwhelm me .. to the point that I feel so deeply connected to someone when the people closest to me? .. I don’t have that same connection. Why is that? .. Is it a matter where in the universe there are certain individuals who connect (for lack of better wording) cosmically rather than intellectually ? .. that you feel that connection with someone in some cases before you even put face to face? Maybe just a voice .. and all of a sudden you feel that connection that cannot be explained and you are drawn to that person.

Now to anyone reading this? .. one would likely come to the assumption that this blonde is really “blonde” !! 😉 .. Just a sometimes challenged lady who cares way too much and is looking for answers. I wonder if in listening we are listening truly to what is being said .. to the undertones .. to the ideas and thoughts of another .. or are we listening more to what we ‘want’ to hear that will satisfy our intellect and emotion.

Maybe I really think too much! <smile> and the answers to my own questions? .. maybe shouldn’t go there today on this beautiful gorgeous day .. clear blue skies with puffy white clouds. I sit here in my office looking out the window on a beautiful late afternoon. My boys have just come in after attempting a quick swim in the pool .. much too cool .. deceptive as it looks very inviting. Perhaps tomorrow….

So I will leave you with the thought above, listening with intent .. but, mostly hearing with your heart and not your head .. and I will likely come back later with renewed thoughts and perhaps revise this .. writer’s perogative! .. (never have considered myself one though I’m told would make a good one!)

Journaling has always been a way for me to work out those mind thoughts that come into one’s head as way of discovering truth and resolution.

take care and enjoy a beautiful day.. all for now .. ~k~

About karenbobic

I am a sah-wahm of three sons. Trained as a musician/educator, I taught in the private sector for more than 20 years. I have a passion for helping others including animal rescue. I love to spend time with our family, friends and of course our english springer spaniels.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

